Sacra

He walked away from me

Clinging to her hand

And smiling…

I feel those tears again

Knowing I trust another soul

With the reality of my heart

Every day.

And hundreds upon hundreds of

Parents

Give that same trust

To me.

I drive away from my son

And their sons and daughters

Shall not see my tears

I’ll give them my love instead

I will be another gentle heart

In their children’s lives

And I will work to be worthy

Of the trust they give

Of their beating hearts that walk

Through my life.

And I will strive to keep before my eyes

This sacred charge:

That all I say and do have kindness and growth

As its origin and love for the breath of its song.

~ by Rebecca Erickson on June 5, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
